资源分享

由GPS 到 IPS,定位系统新趋势

现今的智能手机都配备了全球定位系统(GPS),所以大多驾驶者已不带地图外出。全球定位系统 ( GPS ) 能协助用户辨认路向,是非常实用的工具。可是,由于卫星讯号无法穿透墙壁,因此GPS无法在室内使用。室内定位系统( IPS ) 可算是GPS的室内进化版本,其功能是在大型建筑物和展览厅、博物馆等会场中提供导航资讯,但其准确度和用户体验一直令人失望。专家一直致力开发室内定位系统(IPS),期望在建筑物内,尤其展览厅、博物馆、商场、机场等大型空间进行定位,可惜IPS发展至今,表现仍未如理想。

IPS存在的问题

目前的IPS系统存有不少技术问题。首先,地图制作粗陋欠准是用户体验差的主要元凶。其次,室内间隔可能会减弱IPS讯号,令其变得不稳定,时有时无,也会影响用户体验。此外,室内结构会反射讯号,产生干扰,而不同楼层的讯号亦会互相干扰;这些干扰都会降低IPS的准确度。

假设你乘商场的扶手电梯到另一楼层,大多IPS系统会在这时突然无法运作,停顿长达一分钟之久。那是因为楼层的改变搞乱了系统对于其所在位置的认知,故需重新进行校正。用户在前往目的地途中看到手机程式暂停操作,一般会放弃使用IPS,直接问路去,这就是IPS未被广泛采用的原因之一。

IPS技术之一二

现时较为普及的IPS技术有三种,包括Wi-Fi、低功耗蓝牙和磁场定位。

1) Wi-Fi: 定位准确范围有限,仅在5至15米之间,无法涵盖所有​​展览摊位或店铺。
2) 磁场定位系统: 它虽然成本低,但容易受到附近电流和电子设备的干扰。举例说,简单动作如开关蓝牙耳机已足以令磁场改变,促使IPS进行校正。所以,Wi-Fi网络和磁场定位系统的表现都不理想。
3)低功耗蓝牙: 信标是单向的发送器,它只能广播讯号,而不能接收资料,因此不会构成保安威胁。然而,低功耗蓝牙成本低,在成本与效能间取得较佳的平衡。

何谓协同定位法?

协同定位法能够延伸IPS网络,并在接收效果较差的位置增强讯号,原理是用信标把定位讯号发送到附近的智能手机,收到讯号的手机会充当信标,把定位讯号转送开去,如此类推,就像接力赛跑一样。这样一来,定位讯号就能绕过障碍物,无论在场地的哪个角落,都能保持强大、稳定,而不会出现盲点。

Blue Pin 共花了四年时间,由零开始开发各个硬件和软件,逐一处理可能影响IPS准确度的因素。 Dolphin IPS最终在协同定位技术以及一系列能确保定位准确度的复杂算法都取获专利。

如何炼出准确、稳定的室内定位系统

团队更利用扩增实境技术提升导航功能,在镜头拍摄到的实景中加上箭咀,指示用户该走的方向,让用户轻松地以最快捷的途径到达目的地。

除了提供稳定精确的跨楼层室内导航功能外,Dolphin还是十分有用的数据来源。它可匿名记录用户在系统覆盖范围的数码足迹,配合大数据分析,帮助场地管理者、百货公司、小商户、参展商等从用户选择的路线、在店铺或摊位逗留的时间等数据,识别用户的消费喜好和模式,了解目标客户群。当用户再进入系统覆盖范围,系统便可根据这些资料,在他们还未抵达个别商户、专柜、摊位时,将适合客户的广告、优惠等消费信息发送给他们,从而提升用户的消费意欲和购物体验,吸引新、旧客户。管理者还可按人流位置和分布等数据,即时作出有效调配,加强人力资源管理的效率。用户亦可利用系统在会场轻松地寻找朋友,清楚知道朋友的位置;或在紧急情况下发出求助信息,让保安或救护人员在最短时间内接触求助者,提供适切的协助。

后记: 2019年11月,Dolphin室内定位系统于第七十一届德国纽伦堡iENA国际发明展中勇夺金奖殊荣。 Blue Pin为理大微型基金计划的获奖项目。

Resources

From GPS to IPS, the New Trend of Positioning System

Smart phones are equipped with a Global Positioning System (GPS), most drivers do not hesitate to bring a map while they are on the road. The GPS can assist users in identifying directions and is a very practical tool. However, satellite signals can hardly penetrate walls, GPS is not viable in an indoor environment as a result. On the other hand, the Indoor Positioning System (IPS) can be regarded as an indoor version of GPS. It provides navigation information in vast buildings and exhibition halls, museums and other venues. While it has been disappointing in terms of accuracy and user experience. Experts have been spending efforts on the development of IPS, aiming to provide positioning solutions in indoor buildings, such as exhibition halls, museums, shopping malls, airports etc. However, the performance of IPS is far from satisfactory.

Problems of IPS

The current IPS system has many technical issues. First of all, poor map production and inaccuracy are the main problems leading to a poor user experience. Secondly, the indoor partitions may make the IPS signal unstable, it also affects the overall user experience. In addition, indoor structures will reflect signals and cause interference. The signals on different floors will interfere each other; these interferences will reduce the accuracy of IPS.

To imagine, when you take an escalator from one floor to another floor in a shopping mall, most IPS systems fail to work in such circumstances, it will pause as long as one minute. This is because the change of the floor may confuse the system about the person’s location, therefore the system tries to correct it repeatedly. In that scenario, the IPS program of the user may encounter a suspension on the way to the destination, they will generally quit the program and seek help from others directly. This is one of the reasons why IPS has not been widely adopted.

A brief of IPS technology

Wi-Fi, Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) and Magnetic Field Positioning are the most common IPS technologies in configuration.

1) Wi-Fi: The range of positioning accuracy is limited from 5 to 15 meters, which can hardly cover every exhibition booth shop.

2) Magnetic Field Positioning: Although the cost is relatively low, it is easily interfered by nearby signals of electronic equipment. For example, as minor as an action of switching a Bluetooth headset may sufficiently affect the magnetic field, prompting the IPS to self-correct. Therefore, the performance of Wi-Fi network and Magnetic Field Positioning system is not ideal in that sense.

3) Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE): The beacon is a one-way transmitter, it can only broadcast signals, but not receive any data. Therefore it won’t pose any security threat to the users. BLE system requires low cost. It makes a better balance between cost and performance.

What is Co-location Technology?

The Co-location Technology can extend the IPS network and enhance the signal at locations with poor reception. The principle is to use a beacon to send the location signal to a nearby smartphone, and the mobile phone that receives the signal will act as a beacon and forward the location signal, and so on like a relay race. In such a way, the positioning signal not only bypass obstacles, but also remain strong and stable without any blind spots no matter which corner the user stands on.

Blue Pin spent four years on developing various hardware and software from scratch. They are dealing with multiple factors that may affect the accuracy of IPS . Dolphin IPS finally obtained patents for its Co-location Technology and a series of complex algorithms to ensure positioning accuracy.

How to refine Indoor Positioning technology to an accurate and stable system

The team also adopted Augmented Reality (AR) to improve navigation functions. An arrow is added on the real scene captured by the lens to indicate the direction of the user, therefore the user can reach the destination in the fastest and easiest way.

In addition to enabling stable and accurate cross-floor indoor navigation, Dolphin can also provide a source of useful data. It records the user's digital footprint anonymously in the system coverage area. With big data analysis, it helps venue managers, department stores, small merchants, exhibitors to identify the users’ selected routes, the time spent on a particular store or booth, etc. so as to better understand the behaviour of their target customers. Based on the data collected, when users enter the coverage area again, the system will send them advertisements, discount codes and other consumer information relevant to the customer, it enhances users’ desire for consumption and shopping experience. It is definitely a draw to the existing as well as the new customers. From the perspective of the human resources management from the venue, they can make an effective real-time HR deployment based on the location and distribution of customers’ data. Users can easily find friends in the venue and know their location clearly with our system. In an emergency situation, they can send out a message to seek help, the security or first-aid team reach the spot to offer appropriate assistance in a timely manner.

P.S. In November 2019, the Dolphin Indoor Positioning System won the gold medal at the 71st iENA International Invention Exhibition in Nuremberg, Germany. Blue Pin is also an award-winning project of the PolyU Micro Fund Project.